UEFA Women's Coach of the Year: Bompastor, Voss-Tecklenburg, Wiegman |  About UEFA

UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year: Bompastor, Voss-Tecklenburg, Wiegman | About UEFA

Lyon coach Sonia Bompastor, German coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg and England coach Sarina Wiegman are the top three contenders for the 2021/22 UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be named, along with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year, at the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Istanbul , Thursday, August 25.

Nominated for UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year

sonia bompasteur

sonia bompasteurUEFA via Getty Images

Sonia Bompastor (Lyon)
Bompastor, director of the youth academy since retiring in 2013 from her glittering playing career, was promoted to head coach in April 2021, shortly after Paris Saint-Germain ended the five-year reign of Lyon as UEFA Women’s Champions League champions, who were on the verge of stripping the French side of the league title for the first time since joining the club as a midfielder in 2006.

By the end of Bompastor’s first full season, the team had regained both titles, eclipsing Paris in the league and UEFA semi-finals and beating defending champions and favorites Barcelona in the final in Turin.

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg

Martina Voss-TecklenburgThomas Boecker/DFB/Pool via Gett

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany)
After beginning her coaching career leading Duisburg to the 2008/09 UEFA Women’s Cup and then guiding Switzerland to their first major international leagues in 2015 and 2017, Voss-Tecklenburg took charge of Germany in 2019.

A four-time Women’s EURO winner as a player, she came one step closer to winning England as manager in July. The Germans were first in the group ahead of Denmark, Spain and Finland, before eliminating Austria and France, to fall in added time against England (2-1) at Wembley. However, during their tour, Germany proved they were once again one of the continent’s top contenders.

sarina wiegman

sarina wiegmanUEFA via Getty Images

Sarina Wiegman (England)
Wiegman, who led the Netherlands to home victory at Women’s EURO 2017, left that role to take charge of England a year ago. In an incredible unbeaten season, in which the ‘Lionesses’ scored more than 100 goals, Wiegman once again led the hosts of Women’s EURO to success, leading England to their first major title at Wembley in July.

Along the way, England scored a tournament record 22 goals and conceded just two, winning all of their matches with a dynamic style of play that was witnessed by record crowds. On the other hand, Wiegman was able to name the same eleven to start each game. They are also on course to qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where Wiegman’s side will be one of the favorites to overtake second-placed Netherlands in 2019.

The rest of the ‘Top 5’

4 Jonatan Giraldez (Barcelona) – 27 points
5 Tommy Stroot (Wolfsburg) – 22 points

What is the UEFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year Award?

For this award, coaches in Europe, regardless of their nationality, were elected based on their performance throughout the season in all competitions, both domestic and international, at both club and national team level. . Lyon coach Jean-Luc Vasseur was the first winner of the 2019/20 seasonfollowed by Barcelona coach Lluís Cortés in 2020/21.

How were the coaches elected?

UEFA’s technical study group has selected an initial list of five coaches.

The list of three finalists was selected by a jury composed of:

• The coaches of the 16 teams that took part in the 2021/22 UEFA Women’s Champions League group stage
• The coaches of the 16 teams that took part in the 2022 UEFA European Women’s Championship
• A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM)

Jury members chose their top three coaches, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches could not vote for themselves.

#UEFA #Womens #Coach #Year #Bompastor #VossTecklenburg #Wiegman #UEFA

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *